10 questions for…Julie Curly

image

 

This is week I caught up with singer/songwriter Julie Curly from Montreal, for one of the most interesting 10 questions so far!

First things first how did your music start?

I’ve been doing music for more than a decade, in cover bands, as chorus member and as a singer-songwriter. But still, the original stuff I’m doing right now started in 2013, when meeting musician and composer Gilbert Cantin. From then on, we’ve produced a 12 track album in French (my mother tongue) and playing live venues ever since with our incredible musicians.

What genre of music would you say you play?

Pop/rock meet “curly” vibes.

Which bands/artists do you take influences from?

This is a difficult question… I must say that my favorite band of all times is The Beatles, and on the lyrics side, John Lennon & Bob Dylan, are the ones I admire the most. So maybe I was inspired by them a little? I must say that my award winning song “Can you imagine? (The killing of John Lennon) was -of course- inspired by Lennon!

Best venue you’ve ever played and why?

In Montreal, at Le Petit Medley. Our album launching, our first meeting with our friends & fans, they were so supportive and happy to be there, the vibe was incredible!

Best gig you’ve ever attended?

Last year, I saw Aretha Franklin at the Montreal jazz festival; best singer I have ever heard!! At 72, she commended the stage like no one!

A band you would most like to support and why?

If dreaming is possible, Katie Melua, for her amazing song-writing, touching voice and sensibility.

A band that you would like to work with?

I’ll have to repeat myself on this one… Katie Melua! Plus, I spoke to her once, she’s so sweet!

Top five albums you’ve ever heard?

1- Let it be – The Beatles
2- The greatest hits- Janis Joplin
3- Piece by piece & pictures – Katie Melua
4- You oughta Know – Alanis Morissette
5- Nevermind- Nirvana

Biggest accomplishment as a band/solo artist?

Having my first self-produced album out, is a big accomplishment for me, and having the chance to perform it live with my incredible musicians is equally amazing!

What’s next in the pipeline?

Recording an EP in English!
Follow us at http://www.juliecurly.com and on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/juliecurlymusic

Thanks so much Julie for giving us your time,it’s much appreciated!

Published by

wordsformusic

A music lover of most (not all) genres, constantly trying to find new and inventive music.

Leave a comment