10 Questions for Johnno Casson!

First things first how did you come to be?

My Mumma whispered sweet nothings into my papa’s ear and the rest as they say is history.
Oh you mean musically? I started writing crap poems in school aged 14 when I should have been doing biology/maths/geography and just kept going, making music and writing songs until many years later I finally got half decent at it, I was 5th best looking in my class too.
Bands – Corrosive, Pyjama Party, Fast Forward, Back to Base, Deep Joy 
Solo – Snippet, Old Tramp, me.
What genre of music would you say you play?
Pop music, some call it wonky pop, some SnipHop, I just call it mine and await further news from the front line. My upcoming album Future Melancholy Pop Music see’s me mixing a few of my alter ego’s and styles, you’re welcome.
Which bands/artists do you take influences from?
So many, I think the earliest sounds tend to have ingrained themselves into my psyche and many of those were kids tv music of all kinds. Gruff Rhys, Badly Drawn Boy, The Streets, Beck, Squeeze, The Divine Comedy, Nick Drake, Villagers, Ian Dury & the Blockheads
Best venue you’ve ever played and why?
Kempton Park racecourse was a mad one, as was Dublin Castle but I’ll go for 
The Astoria, London (with my band Deep Joy) supporting The Farm who were in the top 5 of charts with All Together Now. It was a wonderful night as everyone was out of their nuts on…. erm love, yeah love thats it
Best gig you’ve ever attended?
So many, I could probably pick one for every day of the month, today’s choice (thanks memory for bringing back into my mind)
Gil Scott Heron – Dingwalls, Camden, London.
A sweaty hub of sweet sweet music with a powerful message
A band you would most like to support and why?
Gruff Rhys, love his music and the way he does things makes total sense to my wonky brain, I feel a connection (don’t they all). It would be fun and interesting and who doesn’t like fun and interesting eh?
A band that you would like to work with?
Sweet Baboo, he has come into my earlobes in the last couple of years and I rate Stephen Black aka Sweet Baboo highly and admire his songwriting ability and deft ability to deliver super fine tunes. After someone pointed it out to me that he was operating in a similar headspace to me (with my work as Snippet) I listened up more and started to feel a connection to his music and that grew into a love and I’m now fighting a big man crush that see’s me buying all his albums (on vinyl!) plus Wales has the best music atm doesn’t it? 
Also, Imo the best music to be found sits outside of the mainstream, in the borders and the margins is where the really interesting stuff happens.
Top five albums you’ve ever heard?

The Specials – The Specials
Ian Dury and the Blockheads – Do it Yourself
The Streets-Original Pirate Material
Gruff Rhys – American Interior
Father John Misty-I Love You Honey Bear

Biggest accomplishment as a band/solo artist?
To still be in love with the whole music making process, I never tire of it, its my escape, its my therapy, its my happiness and its my love and to be still making music that some people enjoy after all these years is a lovely bonus. I often say to people that you should measure your success against your own wishes and aspirations and not against the latest star lighting up the charts because that is a skewed yardstick. 
What’s next in the pipeline?
My new album Future Melancholy Pop Music is released on Folkwit Records on 7th April – iTunes https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/future-melancholy-pop-music/id1207835048
and I am launching the album in Colchester on the afternoon of Sunday 9th April, and how British of me – I am doing it in a tea room
Thanks for taking the time to take on the 10 Questions Snippet, good luck!
Leave a Reply

