10 Questions for…Hana Oceans

image

 

First things first how did you come to be a solo artist?

Because I haven’t found a band yet. . No, but since I started music 4 years ago it’s been a process discovering myself as an artist and how to be a medium for the art. For me it has taken until now to be able to identify with it. Today I would love to have a band.

Before I couldn’t see it.

What genre of music would you say you play?

The structure and the chords is pop. But the lyrics and atmosphere is quite alternative.

It has a film music feel to it sometimes.

Which bands/artists do you take influences from?

Agnes Obel, Ane Brun, Tina Dico, Florence & The Machine, Rae Morris, Ben Howard.

Best venue you’ve ever played and why?

Last summer I sang at the streets of Boston with some friends. It was all about joy and connect with people. When I sing at more prepared gigs I often put a lot of pressure at myself but singing like this was only fun.

Best gig you’ve ever attended?

When I was right in front of the stage watching a Susanne Sundfor concert. It felt like I took a piece of her soul with me home afterwards.

A band you would most like to support and why?

Some good friends of mine have a band called Karmacloud. They are three amazing musicians and I want to support them cause I wish I would have what they have.

A band that you would like to work with?

If I can dream all the way to heaven I would like to create something with James Blake and a symphony orchestra.

Top five albums you’ve ever heard?

Ben Howard – Every Kingdom

Florence + The Machine – Ceremonials

Tina Dico – Live with the Danish national chamber orchestra

Agnes Obel – Aventine

James Blake – overgrown

Biggest accomplishment as a band/solo artist?

Putting together this debut EP of mine together with some hardworking people believing in music.

What’s next in the pipeline?

I will start playing this EP at venues hoping it will get wings and spread. I’m also working on some new material that I don’t know when to release yet.

Yet to be what is unknown..

Thank you so much Hana for taking the time out, you’ve got all the talent in the World and continue to use it!

Leave a Reply

