The Cribs Live @ KASBAH Coventry

the-cribs

 

So after the long wait after the postponing of the show that was supposed to take place in June, I finally got to see The Cribs for a second time this year. It was an aggravating wait which consisted of torturing myself by continuously listening to them, and watching live videos of them on youtbue, but thankfully the wait was finally over and I felt like a kid on Christmas day who was surrounded by re-spawning presents. After the long drive up and a lot of waiting around in the car the clock finally hit 6.45 and entered a venue that I’ve finally had the joy of visiting, The Kasbah.

After the show was moved, the line-up also had a slight change, as B-town bandits JAWS were meant to play the second support slot, but due to it being moved it was changed, and I had enjoyment of watching Wide Eyed, another promising up and coming Birmingham band. I was pleasantly surprised as I’ve never seen them live before, as their Horror-esque sound and feel had the crowd locked on to them. My attention was drawn the rhythm guitarist as he continued to play with his many pedals creating some wondrous noises which sounded like they had been taken from outer space. The frontman’s fingers were working overtime as I struggled to keep track of what they were doing, and the drummer played an integral part to every song as he effortlessly played some complex beats. After that performance I can safely say Wide Eyed earned a few more fans, regardless to the fact he only told the crowd once what the band was called.

The usual suspects of Drenge took the next support slot, as they played supported the Cribs previously at the 100 club earlier this year. The two piece from Wakefield manage to create a raw powerful sound which you wouldn’t expect to hear from a two piece, but the catchy yet heavy riffs from lead guitarist (ENTER NAME) gives the songs a real burst of life. Well known ‘Bloosport’ created the first real mosh pit of the night with a group of about 20 people began to push each other aggressively without care.‘Face like a Skull’ and ‘I want to break you in half’ continued this flow of energy as people persevered and continued to create a real atmosphere, unfortunately I wasn’t able to get in on the act as I was tied to the front barrier with my other half.

Finally after the two hour long wait, the room was full, sweat as it was dripping off the walls and everyone made their way to the floor as the one of the best live acts around today walked out humbly as always, forcing the crowed to roar like an injured lion.

images

Crowd favourites ‘Our bovine public’, ‘I’m a realist’ and ‘Another number’ of course made an appearance as it obviously would’ve been rude not to play them, as always these songs distributed out invisible cans of energy and angst, which was showcased by the crowd as a tidal wave of surfers continued to fly over which was inevitably encouraged by Ryan.

We knew that they were going to play some deep cuts and they did as they played ‘I’m learning how to fight’ and ‘Things you should be knowing’ which both feature on their first and best album. The fellas played the songs as if it was their first time, the energy was glowing off the stage and Ryans guitar playing, which never fails to amaze me.

Ryan invited everyone to try and attempt to get on the stage as gestured it with his hands, without doubt people but no one prevailed unfortunately, but there were some pretty impressive falls over the rails though.

The+Cribs+In+Concert+nRjrrGQNs0RlTheir latest album Belly of The Brazen Bull still played a huge part on the setlist as ‘Jaded Youth’, ‘Anna’, ‘Glitters like Gold’, ‘Back to the Bolthole’, ‘Come on and be no-one’ and ‘Chi Town’ all made the cut. But even though I’ve listened to that album over and over again, the songs are just as mouth-watering as when I first heard them, grungy, punky and down right dirty.

My personal highlight of the gig, which comes just above Ryan chucking his guitar, was ‘You were always the one’, because I know I will never jump and shout like that ever again, and It’s my girlfriends favourite cribs track.

As I was driving I wasn’t able to drink, if anything I believed that this worked in my favour as every last piece of the gig is saved in my brain which I can revisit any time I like. Thankyou Gary, Ross and Ryan for creating the Cribs and being the band you are.

 

Leave a Reply

