Jake Bugg – Jake Bugg

Intro

Was suppose to review this as soon as it came out but, with work load and all of my normal excuses I wasn’t able too, but I still think I can, well I might as well. JAKE BUGG, I was excited when he came out because of how young he was, how great he songs were and how cool he looked. Now for a 20 year old, it’s quite hard to say that a guys that’s younger is cool, but he is and there isn’t a lot we all can do about it. This came out on October 15 (Shit I am quite late), on the label Mercury Records, which is owned by Universal Music Group and the album was produced by a number of people who are Iain Archer, Mike Crossey, Matt Prime, Crispin Hunt, Jason Hart.
The Album

I got the album a bit late unfortunately because money issues, I couldn’t even spare a tenner, but when my mate phoned and told me that it was worth getting and the wasn’t really a song their that he didn’t like I thought ‘Fuck this I don’t need this tenner’, and went and brought it. I listened to it on the way home from Merry Hill (place where I live), and I got to listen to it all, and it was an extremely good listen.  Clash said that Jake is ‘a precious talent, fusing retro folk with blistering contemporary rock riffs’, and I think that they’ve pretty much hit the nail on the head with that comment, because this definitely shows in the songs ‘lightning bolt’ and ‘Trouble Town’.

However on the album it shows much softer side to him and show’s his versatility in songwriting with ‘Country Song’, because when I listen to that I think a 30 year old should be writing that, so I think he’s writing skills are so far ahead of him. On the album you also have the songs that would cause rampage live, and I think this is shown in ‘Two Fingers’ and ‘Seen it all’ (Which is a brilliant song), also the vocals on these two are incredible for a guy of his age. Writing about vocals, I think the vocals in slide are chilling, it literally sends chills down my spine every time I listen to it.

I think my favourite song on the album has to be ‘Someone told me’, which I heard before I brought the album, but listening to it on the album grouped with all those other songs just showed how strong that song is, because it’s with all those other strong songs, which proves it wasn’t a one off. I would’ve liked ‘Saffron’ to feature on the album, because that really is beautiful song along with ‘Somebody Told Me’, and because I want you to listen to the song I’m going to put it on my blog.

Overall 8.5

An excellent debut for anyone, but from a guy of his age it’s actually out of this world, I’m sure there’s people twice his age that would be dying to make an album like this. This will surely be in my car for quite a long time, and will be played for many years to come, an album that my gran-kids will have to hear. Unfortunately I haven’t got tickets to see him, as there’s only sitting left which i’m always in two minds doing because you don’t feel like you’re actually at the gig. Jake Bugg,bring on your second album.

 

One response to “Jake Bugg – Jake Bugg

Leave a Reply

