The Cribs – Tuesday 6th November 2012 – HMV Institure Birmingham

Before I start the post I would just like to say sorry for terrible lighting on the camera, my girlfriend just took her rubbish one as she didn’t want the other one to be battered, but still thankyou to her because with out her, I wouldn’t have these photos. If you’ve got any photos from the gig, please j get in touch I’d like to see em’, alex4563@hotmail.co.uk

I had the joy of seeing The Cribs this Tuesday, and I’ll be honest I’ve never seen them before (because before this I was a chav), but I’m a really big fan of theirs not only for their music but their whole indie ethos, they seemed to have stayed grounded regardless of the success, also they do go under the name of Witchita Recordings in the UK, in the US they’re under Warner I think, not entirely sure.

However they had a big gap between their last album and this one which is out now ‘In the belly of the brazen bull’ I did a review of the album and remember expressing how great it was, the gap was prior to the departure of Johnny Marr, undoubtedly one of the most influential guitarists ever. Also it was said that The Cribs were trying to do something a bit different and had to get used to being a three piece again, and I think they did that and paraded it on this very good album.

The Gig

Right the gig, instead of rattling on I should talk about this breath taking, ear piercing and energetic rush of a gig. To put it in one word it was breathtaking, quite literally at the end I couldn’t breathe because of all the shouting, pushing and kicking that I had to do to remain alive (it weren’t that bad). I think the performance proved that they are probably one of the best if not the best bands around now, purely for the arsenal of songs they have, the energy they bring to the stage and Ryan Jarman’s immaculate style.

The gig started off fast, and it really didn’t slow down, with the likes of ‘Come on and be a no one’ and ‘Our bovine public’ starting us off. With the guitars sounding distorted and their microphones giving offΒ  this slight buzz every time they started singing just added to the occasion, and how much they really didn’t care about the sound that much, because I know some bands perhaps would of stopped and tried to sort it out. You had the obvious crowd pleasers with ‘Hey Scenesters’ and ‘Men’s Needs’, but the songs that took the night for me was ‘Be Safe’, I love the track on the album but it was so much better live, as you had the AV backing track featuring Lee Ranaldo of Sonic Youth, and these blaring guitars and the back of it.

They also gave us the choice of ‘We were aborted’, ‘Don’t you wanna be relevant’ and ‘Leather Jacket Love Song’, personally I wanted ‘DYWBR’ but I got ‘We were aborted’. But I would of preferred ‘Direction’,Β  because that is probably one of theΒ  best songs to go mad to, I was shouting for it almost every chance I could, but it didn’t come.

The main highlight for me in the gig was when Ryan Jarman’s guitar was playing up, and Ryan asked Gary to start singing a song for the crowd while they fixed it, and then he started singing ‘Under Pressure’ by Queen, and as soon as Ryan’s Guitar was fixed they proceeded an played the whole song, which I enjoyed.

The final point I wanna bring up about the gig was the attitude of all of them, you could see they were brothers and they still loved what they were doing and they still looked like they were in they early 20’s just by the way they were acting, it showed that they just love doing what they do.

Ryan Jarman

Just one last thing before I wrap this up, Ryan Jarman is one of my favourite guitarists, performers and musician after that night just because of how he acted, the way he dressed and his guitar is fucking cool, oh and his haircut is off the radar it’s that good.

7 responses to “The Cribs – Tuesday 6th November 2012 – HMV Institure Birmingham

  1. Ah, so it’s you who’s responsible for the ringing in my right ear, with the Direction requests? πŸ˜‰
    It’s Leather Jacket Love Song btw, and I have to say I was really sad the audience didn’t vote for that one – it’s been played live only handful of times so far, was never released and possibly never will be, and so it’s a real shame we didn’t take Ryan’s offer.

  2. Yeah haha! At the front?

    Cheers I’ve made amendments, I should’ve of changed it just didn’t get round to it. Yeah, I listened to it would of been good if we got them to play that one, would’ve felt quite special. If it was up to me, they would’ve played all of em’ πŸ™‚

  3. Yep, at the very front – that’s the place to be πŸ˜‰ And our gig was special – we got the very first ever live performance of Under Pressure!
    I wrote a lil review, too, for next issure of Cribs fanzine – and now it’s time for a little promo πŸ˜‰ Check it out, it’s just about two quid for an issue and it’s always packed with good Cribs-related reading material. More info you can find here http://thecribsfanzine.wordpress.com/

  4. Oh cool, I definitely will do that then and start purchasing it! Also I reviewed ‘In the Belly of the Brazen Bull’, could I send that in or would it be a bit too late for that? I think i know who you are! Did I elbow you or accidentally hit you a couple of times? I think I did, my Girlfriend said she remembered you. How long has the magazine been going for??

    > Date: Mon, 12 Nov 2012 16:28:31 +0000 > To: wordsformusic@live.co.uk >

    • The best is to write Christopher – the main editor – and ask him πŸ™‚ And yes, I think I got a direct slap over the forehead from you but you apologised straight away and besides, that’s how it is at Crib’s gig – you get elbowed, stepped on, pushed and pulled and sometimes kicked in the head by a crowd surfer, too! You gave me no bruises so it’s all good πŸ™‚
      The first ‘zine was published in summer 2011 and so far there are seven issues, each coming out roughly every three months, with an extra one to commemorate the release of Brazen Bull. I’m pretty sure most of the previous issues are still available for purchase.
      On a side note – Chris the Editor is very nice and laid back guy, a pleasure to talk to, so just drop him a line on his email address and have a chat about whatever πŸ™‚
      ps. say big hi to your girl from me! πŸ™‚

      • Okay, I have done :), hopefully it will get put in would be really good feel like I’d be writing for something then haha.

        Haha yes I definitely know who it is, yeah I was to busy going mental and shouting, yeah the crowd surfers were funny. Good glad I didn’t :).

        Oh cool :), have you written for every issue? Yeah think I’ll be purchasing them all now lol, didn’t even know this was going on.

        Yeah I will do cheers πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

